**Classification and Standards: Discussing Tonkinese Cat Types and Standards**

When it comes to Tonkinese cats, there is a fascinating world of diversity within this breed. These cats come in various coat colors and patterns, and they must meet specific standards to be recognized as purebred Tonkinese. In this article, we will delve into the classification and standards that govern Tonkinese cats, including their coat colors and body shapes.

**Classification of Tonkinese Cats**

Tonkinese cats are classified based on their coat color and pattern, and these classifications are often referred to as “Divisions.” The primary divisions for Tonkinese cats are:

**1. Natural Division**
– This division includes the traditional coat colors and patterns, which resemble those of the Burmese breed. Natural Tonkinese cats have solid coat colors, often with darker points on their ears, face, paws, and tail.

**2. Mink Division**
– Mink Tonkinese cats exhibit a more diverse range of coat colors. Their coats are semi-solid, displaying a lighter body color with somewhat darker points.

**3. Pointed Division**
– The pointed division includes Tonkinese cats with the classic Siamese-like coloration. They have a pale body with darker points.

**Standards for Tonkinese Cats**

To maintain the integrity of the breed and ensure quality, various cat breeding organizations, such as The International Cat Association (TICA) and the Cat Fanciers’ Association (CFA), have established standards for Tonkinese cats. These standards encompass not only coat color but also body shape and other characteristics.

**1. Coat Color Standards**
– In the Natural Division, the body color should be warm, with no extreme contrast between body and points.
– In the Mink Division, the body color is lighter than in the Natural Division but should still exhibit moderate contrast between body and points.
– The Pointed Division should have a noticeable contrast between the body color and points, with the points being darker and extending into the ears and tail.

**2. Body Shape Standards**
– Tonkinese cats are medium-sized and well-muscled with a slender, yet substantial build.
– They have a slightly rounded head with almond-shaped eyes that can be blue, green, or aqua.
– Their ears are medium-sized with a rounded tip, and they have a short, straight nose.
– The tail is medium in length, tapering to a rounded tip.

**3. Personality Standards**
– Tonkinese cats are known for their social, affectionate, and vocal nature. They should exhibit a friendly and interactive disposition.

In conclusion, Tonkinese cats come in a variety of coat colors and patterns, and they are classified into different divisions based on these characteristics. These divisions are accompanied by strict standards that define the ideal coat color and body shape for each type of Tonkinese cat. Whether you prefer the classic look of the Natural Division or the more diverse Mink and Pointed Divisions, Tonkinese cats are sure to capture your heart with their unique charm and personality.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *